Home > Romani > Varieties

Varieties, Dialects, and Classification

It may seem like a contradiction to subdivide a non-territorial language such as Romani into dialects whose definition is inter alia according to territorial criteria. The fact that Romani cannot be assigned clearly defined areas of distribution within the European states - as opposed to indigenous European languages ​​such as Breton, Sorbian, Frisian, etc. on whose characteristics the general definition of "minority language" is based - does, however, not exclude territoriality as a defining criterion. The first serious classification of the varieties of Romani is indirectly based on it. After detailed analysis, Miklosich (1872) concludes that the affiliation of Roma and consequently the classification of Romani varieties

are not determined by the state, but by their nationality. This affiliation allows classification into the following thirteen groups: I. Greek [...], II. Rumunian, III. Hungarian, IV. Moravian-Bohemian, V. German, VI. Polish-Lithuanian, VII. Russian, VIII. Finnish, IX. Scandinavian, X. Italian, XI. Basque, XII. English-Scottish, XIII. Spanish. Miklosich (1872: 9)

In the light of the fact that Miklosich critically interpreted and compiled the existing data, one may conclude that from at least the 18th, but probably since the 17th century there may have been a relatively stable geographical distribution of Romani-speaking groups in Europe, and that this distribution is manifested in the contact phenomena of individual Romani varieties. Using the various loanword strata of the thirteen groups, Miklosich also succeeded in roughly reconstructing the migration routes of the individual groups.1

The classification by Gilliat-Smith (1915) also follows an implicit territorial classification. He distinguishes between the Romani dialects of northeast Bulgaria which depend on Romanian‑Wallachian loanwords in Vlax and non-Vlax varieties. Despite this [± Wallachian] dichotomy being rather inconclusive due to the negative definition of most varieties, it is still used today.

Based on this classification, non-Vlax varieties are then subdivided. The groups or subgroups "Balkan, Baltic, Carpathian" introduced by Kaufman (1979) remain of great importance to the electronic documentation of Romani to this day. They are recommended and used as elements of the ISO 639-3 code both by the Open Language Archives Community (www.language-archives.org) and as part of the Ethnologue. In this context, Romani is seen as a "macrolanguage" with seven "member languages".

http://www.ethnologue.com/show_language.asp?code=rom
type name code
MACROLANGUAGE ROMANY rom
member languages Romani, Balkan rmn
Romani, Baltic rml
Romani, Carpathian rmc
Romani, Kalo Finnish rmf
Romani, Sinte rmo
Romani, Vlax rmy
Romani, Welsh rmw

The code for Romani as a "macrolanguage" is relatively easy to use and implement. The problem with this classification lies in the inconsistency of definition of the individual "member languages": "Welsh" is a dialect which is most likely to be extinct, "Kalo Finnish" is an isolated variety, "Sinte" represents a major dialect or dialect cluster and "Balkan, Baltic, Carpathian, Vlax" are groups of varieties.2

Regardless of this classification into "macrolanguage" and "member languages", non-Vlax varieties are subdivided into three branches for the further development of Romani linguistics. The resulting structure includes the four dialect groups Balkan, Northern, Vlax, Central which Bakker (1999: 178) describes as "consensus branching of Romani dialects" and which also forms the basis of the dialect atlas by Boretzky/Igla (2004). Although this classification is based on diagnostic characteristics – lexical and structural archaisms or innovations – and takes account of the migration history, it remains to a certain extent intuitive and unsystematic. Only the Romani Morphosyntax Database of the Manchester Romani Project allows the systematic data based analysis necessary to divide the varieties of Romani according dialectological criteria.3

Ideally, ..., a comprehensive classification of Romani dialects should take into account both the branching of individual groups through migrations, as well as the geographical diffusion of innovations through neighbouring Romani communities. Both kinds of developments may give rise to isoglosses – the differentiating features that can be taken as a basis for dialect classification. Matras (2002: 215)

Matras's analysis roughly confirms the division into Vlax, Balkan and Central dialects, but fails to include the Northern group as it is defined almost exclusively by archaisms which are a far less important diagnostic characteristic than innovation. Primarily considering the latter and placing them in context with the history of migration, the resulting rough division into Balkan, Vlax, Central, Northeast, Northwest, British and Iberian is as follows:

Balkan dialects

Balkan dialects, also known as Balkan I, are spoken in Albania, Bulgaria, Greece, Iran, Kosovo, Macedonia, Moldova, Romania, Serbia, Turkey and Ukraine. This group includes inter alia Arli Romani (Greece, Kosovo, Macedonia), Sepečides-Romani (Greece, Turkey), Ursari Romani (Moldavia, Romania) and Crimean Romani (Ukraine).4

Constitutive features:

sine 'he/she was'
ov, oj, on 'he, she' sg., 'they' pl. personal pronoun
mo, to 'my, your' possessive pronoun
akava, adava demonstrative pronoun
-in- (-iz-) loan verb marker (in the Black Sea region)
-en / kerden 'they made' 2.pers.pl.perf
ka (ma) future particle

Zis dialects

Zis dialects, also called Balkan II, are a distinct subdivision within the Balkan group. Bugurdži, Drindari and Kalajdži Romani are spoken in Macedonia, Kosovo and in northern and central Bulgaria.

Constitutive features:

zis 'day', zi 'soul'
buci 'work', cin- 'to buy'
mo, to 'my, your' possessive pronoun
-iz- loan verb marker

Map showing the Balkan dialects and the Zis dialects within

Vlax dialects

Southern Vlax dialects

Southern Vlax dialects are spoken in Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Greece, Serbia, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Turkey and in southern Romania. This group includes inter alia the dialects of Gurbet, Kalburdžu and Čergara.

Constitutive features:

seha/sesa 'he/she was'
vov, voj, von 'he, she' sg., 'they' pl. 3. pers personal pronoun
mənro,čo 'my, your' possessive pronoun
gava demonstrative pronoun
-isar- loan verb marker
-en/kerden 'they made' 2.pers.pl.perf
ka future particle
-em/sem 'I am' 1.pers.sg.perf
-uri/-ura plural suffixes
in/ni negation particle
a- in ašunav 'I hear' prothetic -a
buči 'work', dživeh 'day', marno 'bread', dej 'mother'

Northern Vlax Dialects

Northern Vlax dialects are spoken in Romania, Moldova, Hungary and Serbia, as well as by migrants all over the world. The dialects of the Kalderaš and Lovara are the most widely spread Mačvaja Romani, which is spoken in the USA, is also well-known.

Constitutive features:

sas 'he/she was'
vov, voj, von 'he, she' sg., 'they' pl. 3. pers personal pronoun
muro, čiro 'my, your' possessive pronoun
-isar- loan verb marker
-en/kerden 'they did' 2.pers.pl.perf
či negation particle
-em 1.pers.sg.perf
-uri/-ura plural suffixes
buči, bukji 'work', džes 'day', šavo 'child', žanav 'I know', manro, manřo 'bread', dej 'mother', khanči 'nothing'

Map showing the Vlax dialects

Central dialects

Southern Central dialects

Southern Central dialects of Romani are spoken in the former Greater Hungary, northern Slovenia, eastern Austria, Romania, Slovakia, Ukraine and in today's Hungary. These include inter alia Burgenland Romani, Vend Romani in Hungary, Prekmurje Romani in Slovenia and the Romungro dialects of Hungary and Slovakia.

Constitutive features:

sina 'he/she was'
ov, oj, on 'he, she' sg., 'they' pl. 3. pers personal pronoun
ada demonstrative pronoun
-in- loan verb marker
-al/sal 'you are' 2.pers.sg.perf
-eha/kereha 'you shall/will do' 2.pers.sg.fut
-ahi [- perfective]
di 'day', leha 'with him', maro 'bread'

Northern Central dialects

Northern Central dialects are spoken in Poland, Slovakia, the Czech Republic and Ukraine. These include East Slovak Romani or Servika and the dialect of the Polish Bergitka Roma.

Constitutive features:

ehas/has 'he/she was'; hin 'he/she is'
jov, joj, jon 'he, she' sg., 'they' pl. 3. pers personal pronoun
kada demonstrative pronoun
-in- loan verb marker
-al/sal 'you are' 2.pers.sg.perf
-eha/kereha 'you shall/will do' 2.pers.sg.fut
-as [- perfective]
leha 'with him', maro 'bread'

Map showing the Central dialects

Northern dialects

Northeastern dialects

Northeastern dialects are spoken in Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Russia, Ukraine and Belarus. These include the varieties of Polska Romani, North Russian or Xaladitka Romani Latvian Lotfitka Romani and Lithuanian dialects.

Constitutive features:

isys 'he/she was'
jov, joj/jej, jone 'he, she' sg., 'they' pl. 3. pers personal pronoun
Adava, dava demonstrative pronoun
-in- loan verb marker
-e/kerde 'you did' 2.pers.pl.perf
-a/kerdja 'he/she did' 3.pers.sg.perf
- ine / kerdine 'they did' 3 .pers.pl.perf
pšal 'brother', maro 'bread'

Northwestern dialects

Northwestern dialects are mainly spoken in Belgium, Germany, France, Finland, Italy, the Netherlands, Austria and Sweden. This group includes inter alia varieties of the Sinti Manuš cluster in Germany, France and neighbouring countries and regions, as well as the Romani of the Kaale in Finland and Sweden.

Constitutive features:

his 'he/she was', hom 'I am', ho 'what' Sinti only
jov/job, joj, jon 'he, she' sg., 'they' pl. 3. pers personal pronoun
kava demonstrative pronoun
-av-/-ar- loan verb marker
-al/sal 'you are' 2.pers.sg.perf
leha 'with him', maro 'bread', dīves 'day'

The group also includes the northwestern Skandoromani in Sweden, Norway and probably Resande living in Denmark, known pejoratively as Tatars. This is a so-called Para-Romani variety. In contrast to the inflectional varieties of Romani, Para-Romani varieties are ethnolects of the respective majority language with primarily lexical elements from Romani. After the shift to the majority language and partial linguistic assimilation, such an ethnolect functions as a linguistic factor for identity, but also as a secret code which is incomprehensible to outsiders. Speakers of such an ethnolect often see it as their "Romani language".

Map showing the Northern dialects

Dialect groups and dialects with independent development

Dialect groups and dialects with independent development include the Romani variety of the Gopti, Hrvati, Dolenjski or Istriani Roma resident in Slovenia5 and southern Italian dialects Abruzzian and Calabrian Romani. The latter are early splits from the Balkan group. It also includes the varieties Romano and Zargari spoken in Iran.

British dialects

British dialects of which Welsh Romani as described by Sampson (1926) is the best known, but is by now probably extinct, are included in the different varieties of Anglo-Romani. It is a Para-Romani which is seen as their Romani by its users who describe themselves as Gypsies.6

Iberian dialects

Iberian dialects of Romani are also only preserved in Para-Romani varieties: in addition to the Basque variety of Errumantxela, Castilian and Catalan ethnolects still exist today and are collectively known as Caló.

Summarising this list results in the following division, neglecting only Dolenjski Romani of all dialects mentioned above:

Groups / dialects or varieties / (Para-Romani Varieties) / DIALECT CLUSTER

1. ^ For details see Matras (2002: 218f.)

2. ^ Despite these apparent shortcomings, which become even more obvious in light of the currently used classification, the ISO 639-3 codes of the "member languages" are not negligible as they represent the generally accepted standard of definition of Romani and its varieties. Within the ROMLEX project, the lexical documentation of varieties of Romani, the problem was solved by extending the ISO code with a fourth letter. For example, the Vlax varieties Gurbet, Kalderaš and Lovara Romani have the codes [rmyg], [rmyk], and [rmyl], Arlije and Bugurdži as Balkan varieties [rmna] and [rmnb] and Burgenland-Romani is defined as a Carpathian variety with the code [rmcb]. The last example illustrates the problem with this approach: Burgenland-Romani is a south-central variety, whereas the definition of Carpathian by Kaufman covers only the north-central varieties. This distinction between north-central and south-central will be discussed further below.

3. ^ Information about the Romani Morphosyntax Database can be found on the website of the Manchester Romani Project

4. ^ The information on the individual dialects refers to the original distribution areas which are roughly determined by Miklosich's classification of contact languages. Recent migrations are not taken into account. For example, Arli speakers are today found in almost all western European countries and beyond (USA, Australia, etc.). The same applies to the other dialect groups. The characteristics of each group listed below follow Matras's descriptions on the website of the Manchester Romani Project

5. ^ See also Cech (2007).

6. ^ See also Matras (2010).

Home > Romani > Dialektologie

Varietäten, Dialekte und ihre Klassifikation

Grundsätzlich mag es als Widerspruch erscheinen, eine non-territoriale Sprache wie das Romani in Dialekte zu untergliedern, deren Definition unter anderem nach territorialen Kriterien erfolgt. Der Umstand, dass man dem Romani im Gegensatz zu indigenen europäischen Sprachen wie dem Bretonischen, Sorbischen, Friesischen etc., auf deren Charakteristika die allgemeine Definition von "Minderheitensprache" basiert, keine klar definierten Verbreitungsgebiete innerhalb der Staaten Europas zuordnen kann, schließt jedoch Territorialität als Bestimmungskriterium nicht aus. Bereits die erste ernstzunehmende Klassifikation der Varietäten des Romani beruht indirekt darauf. Nach eingehender Analyse kommt Miklosisch (1872) zum Schluss, dass die Zugehörigkeit von Roma und in weiterer Folge die Klassifikation ihrer Romani-Varietäten

nicht durch den Staat, sondern durch die Nationalität bestimmt wird. Diese Gebundenheit gestattet die Eintheilung [...] in folgende dreizehn Gruppen: I. die griechischen [...], II. die rumunischen, III. die ungrischen, IV. die mährisch-böhmischen, V. die deutschen, VI. die polnisch-litauischen, VII. die russischen, VIII. die finnischen, IX. die skandinavischen, X. die italienischen, XI. die baskischen, XII. die englisch-schottischen, XIII. die spanischen. Miklosich (1872: 9)

Auf dem Hintergrund der Tatsache, dass Miklosich das zu seiner Zeit vorhandene Datenmaterial kritisch interpretiert und kompiliert, kann man folgern, dass es zumindest ab dem 18., vermutlich aber schon seit dem 17. Jahrhundert eine relativ stabile geographische Verteilung von Romani- Sprechergruppen in Europa gegeben haben dürfte, und dass sich diese Verteilung in den Kontaktphänomenen der einzelnen Romani-Varietäten manifestiert. Mithilfe der verschiedenen Entlehnstrata der dreizehn Gruppen gelingt es Miklosich auch die Migrationsroute der einzelnen Sprechergruppen in etwa nachzuvollziehen.1

Auch die Einteilung von Gilliat-Smith (1915) folgt einer impliziten Territorialklassifikation. Er unterscheidet die Romani-Dialekte des Nordostens Bulgariens abhängig von rumänisch-walachischen Entlehnungen in Vlax- und Non-Vlax-Varietäten. Obwohl diese [± walachisch] Dichotomie aufgrund der Negativdefinition eines Großteils an Varietäten nur wenig Aussagekraft hat, wird sie bis heute verwendet.

Ausgehend von dieser Klassifikation werden in weiterer Folge die Non-Vlax-Varietäten unterteilt, wobei die von Kaufman (1979) eingeführten Gruppen bzw. Untergruppen "Balkan, Baltic, Carpathian" bis heute in der elektronischen Dokumentation des Romani von Bedeutung sind. Als Elemente des ISO 639-3 Code werden sie sowohl von der Open Language Archives Community als auch im Rahmen des Ethnologue empfohlen bzw. verwendet. Romani wird in diesem Zusammenhang als "macrolanguage" mit sieben "member languages" gesehen.

http://www.ethnologue.com/show_language.asp?code=rom
type name code
MACROLANGUAGE ROMANY rom
member languages Romani, Balkan rmn
Romani, Baltic rml
Romani, Carpathian rmc
Romani, Kalo Finnish rmf
Romani, Sinte rmo
Romani, Vlax rmy
Romani, Welsh rmw

Der Code für Romani als "macrolanguage" ist relativ einfach ein- und umsetzbar. Die Problematik dieser Klassifikation liegt in der definitorischen Inkonsistenz der einzelnen "member languages": "Welsh" ist ein heute höchstwahrscheinlich ausgestorbener Dialekt, "Kalo Finnish" eine isolierte Varietät, "Sinte" steht für einen Großdialekt oder Dialektcluster und bei "Balkan, Baltic, Carpathian, Vlax" handelt es sich um Varietätengruppen.2

Unabhängig von dieser Klassifikation in "macrolanguage" und "member languages" werden die Non-Vlax-Varietäten in der weiteren Entwicklung der Romani-Linguistik in drei Zweige unterteilt, wodurch sich eine Gliederung in die vier Dialektgruppen Balkan, Nördlich, Vlax, Zentral ergibt, die von Bakker (1999: 178) als "consensus branching of Romani dialects" bezeichnet wird und auch dem Dialektatlas von Boretzky/Igla (2004) zugrunde liegt. Zwar stützt sich diese Klassifikation auf diagnostische Merkmale – lexikalische und strukturelle Archaiismen bzw. Innovationen – und bezieht die Migrationsgeschichte ein, bleibt aber bis zu einem gewissen Grad unsystematisch und intuitiv. Erst die Romani Morphosyntax Database des Manchester Romani Projects ermöglicht die notwendige systematische datenbasierte Analyse, um die Varietäten des Romani nach dialektologischen Kriterien zu gliedern.3

Ideally, ..., a comprehensive classification of Romani dialects should take into account both the branching of individual groups through migrations, as well as the geographical diffusion of innovations through neighbouring Romani communities. Both kinds of developments may give rise to isoglosses – the differentiating features that can be taken as a basis for dialect classification. Matras (2002: 215)

Die Analyse von Matras bestätigt in etwa die Gruppierungen in Vlax- Balkan- und zentrale Dialekte, jedoch nicht die nördliche Gruppe, da sich diese fast ausschließlich nur über Archaismen definiert, die als diagnostische Merkmale einen bei weitem geringeren Stellenwert haben als Innovationen. Berücksichtigt man primär letztere und stellt diese in Zusammenhang mit der Migrationsgeschichte, ergibt sich die im folgenden aufgelistete grobe Gliederung in Balkan, Vlax, Zentral, Nordöstlich, Nordwestlich, Britisch und Iberisch.

Balkan-Dialekte

Balkan-Dialekte, auch als Balkan I bezeichnet, werden in Albanien, Bulgarien, Griechenland, im Iran und im Kosovo, in Mazedonien, Moldavien, Rumänien, Serbien sowie in der Türkei und der Ukraine gesprochen. Zu dieser Gruppe gehören unter anderem Arli-Romani (Griechenland, Kosovo, Mazedonien), Sepečides-Romani (Griechenland, Türkei), Ursari-Romani (Moldavien, Rumänien) und Krim-Romani (Ukraine).4

Konstitutive Merkmale:

sine 'er/sie war'
ov, oj, on 'er, sie.sg, sie.pl' Personalpronomen
mo, to 'mein, dein' Possessivpronomen
akava, adava Demonstrativpronomen
-in- (-iz-) Lehnverbmarker (in der Schwarzmeerregion)
-en/kerden 'sie machten' 2.pers.pl.perf
ka (ma) Futurpartikel

Zis-Dialekte

Zis-Dialekte, auch als Balkan II bezeichnet, bilden eine eigene Untergruppe innerhalb der Balkan-Gruppe. Bugurdži-, Drindari- und Kalajdži-Romani werden in Nord- und Zentral-Bulgarien sowie in Mazedonien und im Kosovo gesprochen.

Konstitutive Merkmale:

zis 'Tag', zi 'Seele'
buci 'Arbeit', cin- 'kaufen'
mo, to 'mein, dein' Possessivpronomen
-iz- Lehnverbmarker

Karte der Balkan-Dialekte mit den Zis-Dialekten darin

Vlax-Dialekte

Südvlach-Dialekte

Südvlach-Dialekte werden in Albanien, Bosnien-Herzegowina, Bulgarien, Griechenland, Serbien, Kroatien, Mazedonien, Montenegro, im Süden Rumäniens und in der Türkei gesprochen. Diese Gruppe umfasst u.a. die Dialekte der Gurbet, Kalburdžu und Čergara.

Konstitutive Merkmale:

seha/sesa 'er/sie war'
vov, voj, von 'er, sie.sg,sie.pl' 3.pers> Personalpronomen
mənro, čo 'mein, dein' Possessivpronomen
gava Demonstrativpronomen
-isar- Lehnverbmarker
-en/kerden 'sie machten' 2.pers.pl.perf
ka Futurpartikel
-em/sem 'ich bin' 1.pers.sg.perf
-uri/-ura Pluralsuffixe
in/ni Negationspartikel
a- in ašunav 'ich höre' prothetisches -a
buči 'Arbeit', dživeh 'Tag', marno 'Brot', dej 'Mutter'

Karte der Vlach-Dialekte

Nordvlach-Dialekte

Nordvlach-Dialekte werden in Rumänien, Moldawien, Ungarn und Serbien sowie von Migranten auf der ganzen Welt gesprochen. Am weitesten verbreitetet sind die Dialekte der Kalderaš- und Lovara, bekannt ist auch das in den USA gesprochene Mačvaja-Romani.

Konstitutive Merkmale:

sas 'er/sie war'
vov, voj, von 'er, sie.sg, sie.pl' 3.pers Personalpronomen
muro, čiro 'mein, dein' Possessivpronomen
-isar- Lehnverbmarker
-en/kerden 'sie machten' 2.pers.pl.perf
či Negationspartikel
-em 1.pers.sg.perf
-uri/-ura Pluralsuffixe
buči, bukji 'Arbeit', džes 'Tag', šavo 'Kind', žanav 'ich weiß', manro, manřo 'Brot', dej 'Mutter', khanči 'nichts'

Zentrale Dialekte

Südliche zentrale Dialekte

Südliche zentrale Dialekte des Romani werden im ehemaligen ungarischen Großraum, in Nord-Slowenien, Ostösterreich, Rumänien, der Slowakei und der Ukraine sowie im heutigen Ungarn gesprochen. Dazu zählen u.a. das Burgenland-Romani, das Vend-Romani in Ungarn, das slowenische Prekmurje-Romani und die Romungro-Dialekte Ungarns und der Slowakei.

Konstitutive Merkmale:

sina 'er/sie war'
ov, oj, on 'er, sie.sg, sie.pl' 3.pers Personalpronomen
ada Demonstrativpronomen
-in- Lehnverbmarker
-al/sal 'du bist' 2.pers.sg.perf
-eha/kereha 'du wirst machen' 2.pers.sg.fut
-ahi [- perfektiv]
di 'Tag', leha 'mit ihm', maro 'Brot'

Karte der zentralen Dialekte

Nördliche zentrale Dialekte

Nördliche zentrale Dialekte werden in Polen, der Slowakei und der Tschechischen Republik sowie in der Ukraine gesprochen. Dazu zählen u.a. das Ost-Slowakische oder Servika-Romani und der Dialekt der polnischen Bergitka Roma.

Konstitutive Merkmale:

ehas/has 'er/sie war'; hin 'er/sie ist
jov, joj, jon 'er, sie.sg, sie.pl' 3.pers Personalpronomen
kada Demonstrativpronomen
-in- Lehnverbmarker
-al/sal 'du bist' 2.pers.sg.perf
-eha/kereha 'du wirst machen' 2.pers.sg.fut
-as [- perfektiv]
leha 'mit ihm', maro 'Brot'

Nördliche Dialekte

Nordöstliche Dialekte

Nordöstliche Dialekte werden in Estland, Lettland, Litauen, Polen, Russland, der Ukraine und in Weißrussland gesprochen. Dazu zählen u.a. die Varietäten der Polska-Romani, das Nord-Russische oder Xaladitka-Romani, das lettische Lotfitka-Romani und die litauischen Dialekte.

Konstitutive Merkmale:

isys 'er/sie war'
jov, joj/jej, jone 'er, sie.sg, sie.pl' 3.pers Personalpronomen
adava, dava Demonstrativpronomen
-in- Lehnverbmarker
-e/kerde 'ihr machtet' 2.pers.pl.perf
-a/kerdja 'er/sie machte' 3.pers.sg.perf
-ine/kerdine 'sie machten' 3.pers.pl.perf
pšal 'Bruder', maro 'Brot'

Karte der nördlichen Dialekte

Nordwestliche Dialekte

Nordwestliche Dialekte werden hauptsächlich in Belgien, Deutschland, Frankreich, Finnland, Italien, in den Niederlanden sowie in Österreich und Schweden gesprochen. Zu dieser Gruppe rechnet man u.a. die Varietäten des Sinti-Manuš-Clusters in Deutschland, Frankreich und den angrenzenden Staaten und Regionen sowie das Romani der Kaale in Finnland und Schweden.

Konstitutive Merkmale:

his 'er/sie war', hom 'ich bin', ho 'was' nur Sinti
jov/job, joj, jon 'er, sie.sg, sie.pl' 3.pers Personalpronomen
kava Demonstrativpronomen
-av-/-ar- Lehnverbmarker
-al/sal 'du bist' 2.pers.sg.perf
leha 'mit ihm', maro 'Brot', dīves 'Tag'

Zur nordwestlichen Gruppe zählt auch das Skandoromani der in Schweden, Norwegen und vermutlich auch in Dänemark lebenden Resande, die abwertend auch als Tattare bezeichnet werden. Dabei handelt es sich um eine sogenannte Para-Romani-Varietät. Im Gegensatz zu den flektierenden Varietäten des Romani, sind Para-Romani-Varietäten Ethnolekte der jeweiligen Mehrheitssprache mit in erster Linie lexikalischen Elementen aus dem Romani. Nach erfolgtem Wechsel zur Mehrheitssprache bzw. teilweiser sprachlicher Assimilation fungiert ein derartiger Ethnolekt einerseits als linguistischer Identitätsfaktor andererseits aber auch als ein Außenstehenden unverständlicher Geheimcode. Häufig sehen Sprecher eines Ethnolekt diesen als ihre "Romani-Sprache".

Dialekt-Gruppen und Dialekte mit eigenständiger Entwicklung

Dialekt-Gruppen und Dialekte mit eigenständiger Entwicklung sind u.a. die Romani-Varietät der in Slowenien ansässigen Gopti, Hrvati, Dolenjski- oder Istriani-Roma5 und die süditalienischen Dialekte Abruzzese- und Kalabrese-Romani. Bei letzteren handelt es sich um frühe Abspaltungen der Balkan-Gruppe. Zu dieser sind auch die im Iran gesprochenen Varietäten Romano und Zargari zu rechnen.

Britische Dialekte

Britische Dialekte, von denen der bekannteste, das von Sampson (1926) beschriebene Walisische Romani, heute wohl ausgestorben ist, sind in den verschiedenen Varietäten des Angloromani erhalten. Dabei handelt es sich um ein Pararomani, das von seinen Verwendern, die sich selbst als Gypsies bezeichnen, als ihr Romani gesehen wird.6

Iberische Dialekte

Iberische Dialekte des Romani sind ebenfalls nur noch in Pararomani-Varietäten erhalten: neben der baskischen Varietät des Errumantxela, existieren heute noch kastilische und katalanische Ethnolekte, die unter der Bezeichnung Caló zusammengefasst werden.

Fasst man diese Auflistung zusammen ergibt sich die folgende Gliederung, in der von den erwähnten Dialekten nur das Dolenjski-Romani vernachlässigt ist:

Gruppierungen / Dialekte bzw. Varietäten / (Pararomanivarietäten) / DIALEKTCLUSTER

1. ^ Siehe dazu ausführlicher Matras (2002: 218f.)

2. ^ Trotz dieser offensichtlichen Unzulänglichkeiten, die auf dem Hintergrund der in der weiteren Folge präsentierten heute gängigen Klassifikation noch deutlicher werden, sind die ISO 639-3 Codes der "member languages" nicht zu vernachlässigen, handelt es sich dabei ja um den allgemein anerkannten elektronischen Definitionsstandard des Romani und seiner Varietäten. Im ROMLEX-Projekt, der lexikalischen Dokumentation der Romani-Varietäten wurde das Problem durch die Erweiterung des ISO-Codes um einen vierten Buchstaben gelöst. Beispielsweise haben die Vlax-Varietäten Gurbet-, Kalderaš- und Lovara-Romani die Codes [rmyg], [rmyk], und [rmyl], Arlije und Bugurdži als Balkanvarietäten [rmna] bzw. [rmnb], Burgenland-Romani ist als Carpathian-Varietät mit dem Code [rmcb] definiert. An letzterem Beispiel wird die Problematik dieser Vorgangsweise deutlich: Burgenland-Romani ist eine südzentrale Varietät, wohingegen die Carpathian-Definition von Kaufman nur die nordzentralen Varietäten umfasst. Auf diese Unterscheidung in nord- und südzentral wird weiter unten eingegangen.

3. ^ Informationen zur Romani Morphosyntax Database finden sich auf der Web Site des Manchester Romani Projects.

4. ^ Die Angaben zu den einzelnen Dialekten beziehen sich auf die ursprünglichen Verbreitungsgebiete, die in etwa durch die Kontaksprachenklassifikation von Miklosich festgelegt sind. Rezente Migrationen sind nicht berücksichtigt. Beispielsweise sind Arli-Sprecher heute in fast allen Staaten Westeuropas und darüber hinaus (USA, Australien, etc.) anzutreffen. Gleiches gilt im übrigen auch für die anderen Dialektgruppen. Die im folgenden für die einzelnen Gruppen aufgelisteten Merkmale folgen der Beschreibung von Matras auf der Web Site des Manchester Romani Projekts.

5. ^ Siehe dazu Cech (2007).

6. ^ Siehe dazu Matras (2010).