Home > Romani > Syntax

Syntax1

Contrary to New Indo-Aryan languages with the verb in the final position or SOV order, Romani generally has (S)VO order in so-called neutral declarative sentences:

maiñne laṛkī dekhī
S O V 'I saw a girl.' Hindi
I girl saw
(me) dikhlom rakľa
(S) V O 'I saw a girl.' Romani
I saw girl

As indicated by the brackets in the example above, pronominal subjects are optional in Romani, because they are contained in the verbal ending. The position of the subject shows variance between categorical contrastive SV word order which, as in the example above, corresponds to the neutral declarative sentence, and thetic continuative VS word order, as demonstrated in the following final sequence of a Lovara fairy tale.2

Kadej šudas o Rom e benges perdal. Taj tradine penge. Šingerdas pe o beng ande xoli, sa mundardas pe ande stanki. 'Thus the Rom outwitted the Devil. And they left. The Devil, however, exploded with rage and dove into the rocks.'

The change in the general word order from SOV to SVO is the result of Romani’s Europeanisation through contact with Greek and subsequently the languages of the Balkans. This alteration can also be seen in the dichotomy of factual and non-factual subordinating conjunctions mentioned above. Additional innovations include the relative clause, the use of prepositions and the definite article. Generally, these phenomena do not occur in the New Indo-Aryan languages on the Indian subcontinent.

Noun Phrase

In noun phrases, which can comprise a head NOUN (a noun or pronoun) and [optional] constituents in a generally fixed order, the preposition is always in the initial position:

[Preposition] + [Determiner] + [Quantifier] + [Adjective] + NOUN + [optional]

The following example, a prepositional phrase with a postposed noun phrase as an option extension, demonstrates all possible constituents in a noun phrase:

'between my father’s two elder brothers'
maškar o duj phureder phrala mre dadeskere
Prep Det.nom.pl. Num Adj.comp SUBST.nom.pl Pron.obl Subst.obl.gen.pl
between the two elder brothers my father’s

As shown in the example above, the noun is generally in the nominative form when following prepositions. Exceptions are the aforementioned bi 'without' and vaš 'because of', which require the genitive and dative respectively:

bi grasteskero 'without horse'
vaš brišindeske 'because of rain'

Contrary to the nouns, which are in the nominative form in the majority of cases and varieties, pronouns following prepositions are usually locative-marked:

maškar amende 'between us'
upre tute 'above you'

Another distinctive feature of Romani which was already discussed in the chapter dealing with morphology is the genitive noun phrase with its "double case" where the case of the determining article correlates with the genitive attribute, which in turn correlates with the head noun in case, number and gender:

le dadeskeri angrusti 'the father’s ring' / 'the ring of the father'
le dad-es-ker-i angrusti
det.obl subst-obl.sg-gen.sg-nom.sg.fem subst.nom.sg.fem

As shown in the introductory example, genitive nouns can also take the optional place after the head noun which does, however, not affect the "double case". This is also demonstrated in the following example from the Lovara-Romani which shows the genitive plural suffix –ger- contracted to -g-:

kher le dilengo 'house of the mad' / 'madhouse'
kher le dil-en-g-o
subst.nom.sg.mask det.obl subst-obl.pl-gen.pl.-nom.sg.mask

While the postnominal position of genitives is quasi systemic in some Romani varities, the attributes following the head noun of the noun phrase usually carry discourse-pragmatic functions:

... lengere rakle čore mule. '... their (pl) children (the) poor (ones) died.'

Verb Position

The position of the verb depends – as shown initially – on discourse-pragmatic factors with regard to the subject. A similar, if softened, form applies to its position with regard to the object. Generally, the verb is, as defined in the conservative word order specified by Boretzky (1996), positioned before the object – (S)VO. This applies to pronominal objects in particular: Even in Burgenland-Romani, which like all other Vend varieties of the south central dialects shows a contact-induced tendency towards verbs in final positions, direct pronominal objects are usually positioned after the verb:

diklom len 'I saw them (pl)'

In contrast, nominal objects in Burgenland-Romani are often found in front of the verb, most likely due to the influence of Hungarian contact varieties:

Idž leskero nevo auteri diklom. 'Yesterday I saw his new car.'

Indirect objects are usually positioned after direct ones. The verb position in interrogative sentences is the same as in declarative sentences:

Dikhav le grasten. 'I see the horses.'
Dikhes le grasten? 'Do you see the horses?'

Contact-induced word order is a characteristic which Romani shares with many other dominated languages. It is primarily rooted in the plurilingualism of adult Roma and the dominance of the primary contact language, i.e. the local majority language. The resulting contact-induced variance in Romani introduced in this section is further discussed in the following description of complex clauses.

Complex Clauses

The word order in subordinate clauses is generally the same as that of main clauses and displays the (S)VO order described above.

Relative Clauses

As with other European languages, Romani also uses relative clauses. The most commonly occurring elements introducing relative clauses ('relativiser') are kaj 'where' and so 'what'.

i zumi, so kerďa lenge, ... 'the soup which she made for them...'
o murš, kaj alo idž, ... 'the man who arrived yesterday ...'

If the relative clause’s head noun does assume non-subject roles, resumptive pronouns are obligatory. In this function we find kon 'who' and savo 'which', which correlate with the reference-noun of the main clause.

le gadžes, kaskero le grasten si, ... 'Gadžo, whom the horses belong to, ...'
panč džene, saven khera si, ... 'five people who own houses ...'

Verb Complements

Complements of epistemic verbs describing independent and real processes and conditions are marked by the factual or epistemic conjunction kaj; modal complements are introduced by the non-factual or modal conjunction te, which occurs as ti in some varieties.

phenen, kaj lakero phral dikhla la, ... 'they say, that her brother saw her, ...'
o X. mangela ti čumidel la, ... 'X wants to kiss her'

While te/ti are rarely substituted by loans, kaj is often replaced: In Vlax varieties by the functionally equivalent Romanian or ke; in varieties under Greek influence by the also equivalent Greek oti; in central varieties by the Hungarian hod/hodž/hod'/hot/hoj < hun. hogy.

According to Matras (2002: 180) the conjunction te/ti marks modal and aspectual verb complements as well as direct statements.

kamen grasten te bikinel 'they want to sell horses'
astaren te khelen 'they begin to dance '
adava te keres 'you should do that'

In the first example, te marks the complement of the modal verb 'to want', in the second one that of the inchoative verb astaren 'to begin'. The last example is a directive speech act which in English is expressed by the use of the modal verb 'should'.

Adverbial Clauses

Generally, adverbial clauses are introduced by semantically specified conjunctions which can be roughly divided into three categories: The first two consist of the conjunctions kaj and te which, as in their function as verb complements, differ with regard to their factuality. The third category comprises all those subordinate conjunctions which are based on interrogatives or which correspond to these. The non-factual te/ti introduces final, conditional and consecutive clauses.

phenďom lake, te anel amenge mol 'I tell her to get us some wine'
te sas man baxt, ... 'if I were lucky, ...'
buti kerel, bi te kerel love 'he works without making any money'

In contrast, kaj introduces causal clauses:

avav, kaj akarďan man 'I come because you called me '

An example for the third category is the interrogative pronoun kana 'when' in its function as a conjunction with temporal, simultaneous meaning:

arakhav, kana soves 'I stand watch while you sleep'

Additionally, variety-specific loans which either completely replace the original conjunctions or which occur simultaneously with these; combinations of elements of the three categories with loan conjunctions, prepositions and other particles may also occur. The following table shows an incomplete list of types of subordinate clauses and conjunctions based on purely semantic criteria:3

final te/ti, kaj te, hot te, kə te, ja te, či te in order to, so as to, so that
conditional te, bi/by, ako, -se, kana, kada, an te; ob te, či/čy, dali, li, mi if, in case, provided
consecutive te/ti, kaj te, hot kaj; bi te, oni te so that, so; without
causal kaj, kə/ke, vajl, anda kodo ke, sostar, soske, sar, adake, sar, sebepi kaj, afu, jati, zere, bo, mer, jer, lebo, pošto because, as
concessive xoč, hjaba kaj, trocdem kaj, sa jekh ke, jeva despite, in spite of, although, even though, whereas,…
local kaj; katar where (to/from)
temporalanterior sar/syr/har, angla sar, angla kodo ke, bi te na, prin te; dži kaj, dži te, bis te, džikim, bisko, medig before; since
temporalsimultaneous kana, kada/keda, sar/har/syr, kaj, so, afu while, whilst, as, when
temporalposterior kana, kada/keda, sar/har/syr, kaj, so, posle, čim, pala kodo ke, akana, jekh kaj, jekh ta after

1. ^ The treatment of syntax is largely based on Matras (2002: 165–190).

2. ^ Matras‘s (2002: 169 f.) discussion follows up on Holzinger (1993: 274) regarding the discourse-pragmatic and text linguistic function of this differentiation with regard to continuity, connectivity and consecutivity.

3. ^ Individual varieties may show features differing from this list.

Home > Romani > Syntax

Syntax1

Im Gegensatz zu neu-indo-arischen Sprachen mit Verbendstellung bzw. SOV-Stellung im sogenannten neutralen Aussagesatz hat das Romani grundsätzlich (S)VO-Stellung:

maiñne laṛkī dekhī
S O V 'Ich sah ein Mädchen.' Hindi
ich Mädchen sah
(me) dikhlom rakľa
(S) V O 'Ich sah ein Mädchen.' Romani
ich sah Mädchen

Wie die Klammern in obigen Beispiel andeuten sind Pronominalsubjekte im Romani, da in der Verbalendung kodiert, fakultativ. Die Stellung des Subjekts zeigt Varianz zwischen kategorisch kontrastiver SV-Stellung, die – wie in obigem Beispiel – dem neutralen Aussagesatz entspricht, und thetisch kontinuativer VS-Stellung, wie in der folgenden Schlusssequenz aus einem Lovara-Märchen.2

Kadej šudas o Rom e benges perdal. Taj tradine penge. Šingerdas pe o beng ande xoli, sa mundardas pe ande stanki.

'So überlistete der Rom den Teufel. Und sie fuhren ab. Der Teufel aber platzte vor Zorn und fuhr in die Felsen.'

Der Wandel in der grundsätzlichen Wortstellung von SOV zu SVO ist ebenso Ergebnis der Europäisierung des Romani durch Kontakt mit dem Griechischen und in der weiteren Folge mit Balkansprachen wie die bereits oben erwähnte Dichotomie zwischen faktischen und nicht-faktischen subordinierenden Konjunktionen. Zu diesen Innovationen sind des weiteren der Relativsatz, die Verwendung von Präpositionen und der bestimmte Artikel zu rechnen; Phänomene, die in den neu-indo-arischen Sprachen am indischen Subkontinent grundsätzlich nicht auftreten.

Nominalphrase

Die Präposition steht immer an erster Stelle in der Nominalphrase, die neben einem KOPFNOMEN, einem Substantiv oder Pronomen, [fakultative] Konstituenten in einer prinzipiell feststehenden Reihenfolge umfassen kann:

[Präposition] + [Determinator] + [Quantifikator] + [Adjektiv] + NOMEN + [ optional]

Das folgende Beispiel, eine Präpositionalphrase mit postponierter Nominalphrase als optionaler Erweiterung, zeigt sämtliche möglichen Konstituenten einer Nominalphrase:

'zwischen den zwei älteren Brüdern meines Vaters'
maškar o duj phureder phrala mre dadeskere
Prep Det.nom.pl. Num Adj.comp SUBST.nom.pl Pron.obl Subst.obl.gen.pl
zwischen die zwei älter Brüder meines Vaters

Wie obiges Beispiel andeutet, stehen Substantive nach Präpositionen in der Regel im Nominativ. Ausnahmen hiervon sind das bereits erwähnte bi 'ohne' und vaš 'wegen', die einerseits den Genitiv, andererseits den Dativ fordern:

bi grasteskero 'ohne Pferd'
vaš brišindeske 'wegen Regen'

Im Gegensatz zu den Substantiven, die in der überwiegenden Mehrzahl der Fälle und Varietäten im Nominativ stehen, sind Pronomen nach Präposition in der Regel mit dem Lokativ markiert:

maškar amende 'zwischen uns'
upre tute 'über dir'

Eine weitere, bereits im Kapitel Morphologie behandelte Besonderheit des Romani ist die Genitivnominalphrase mit ihrer Doppelrektion, wobei der Kasus des determinierenden Artikels mit dem Genitivattribut korreliert, dieses wiederum in Kasus, Numerus und Genus mit dem Kopfnomen:

le dadeskeri angrusti 'des Vaters Ring' / 'der Ring des Vaters'
le dad-es-ker-i angrusti
det.obl subst-obl.sg-gen.sg-nom.sg.fem subst.nom.sg.fem

Wie das einleitende Beispiel zeigt, können Genitivsubstantive auch die optionale Stelle nach dem Kopfnomen einnehmen, wobei die Doppelrektion jedoch unverändert bleibt, wie auch das folgende Beispiel aus dem Lovara-Romani mit von -ger- zu -g- kontrahiertem Genitivpluralsuffix zeigt:

kher le dilengo 'Haus der Irren' / 'Irrenhaus'
kher le dil-en-g-o
subst.nom.sg.mask det.obl subst-obl.pl-gen.pl.-nom.sg.mask

Während die postnominaler Position von Genitiven in einigen Romani-Varietäten als Option quasi systemisch sind, haben dem Kopfnomen der Nominalphrase nachgestellte Attribute in der Regel diskurspragmatische Funktionen:

... lengere rakle čore mule. '... ihre (pl) Kinder (die) armen starben.'

Verbstellung

Die Position des Verbs hängt – wie einleitend gezeigt – in Bezug auf das Subjekt von diskurspragmatischen Faktoren ab. Ähnliches, wenn auch in abgeschwächter Form, gilt für seine Stellung in Bezug auf das Objekt. In der Regel steht das Verb in der von Boretzky (1996) als konservativer Typ des Romani definierten Wortstellung – (S)VO – vor dem Objekt. Das gilt insbesondere für Pronominalobjekte: Auch im Burgenland-Romani, das ebenso wie alle anderen Varietäten der Vend-Gruppe der südzentralen Dialekte eine kontaktinduzierte Tendenz zur Verbendstellung hat, stehen direkte Pronominalobjekte in der Regel nach dem Verb:

diklom len 'ich sah sie (pl)'

Hingegen stehen nominale Objekte im Burgenland-Romani – höchstwahrscheinlich aufgrund des Einflusses ungarischer Kontaktvarietäten – häufig vor dem Verb:

Idž leskero nevo auteri diklom. 'Gestern sah ich sein neues Auto.'

Indirekte Objekte stehen in der Regeln nach direkten. Die Stellung des Verbs im Fragesatz ist gleich der im Aussagesatz.

Dikhav le grasten. 'Ich sehe die Pferde.'
Dikhes le grasten? 'Siehst du die Pferde?'

Kontaktinduzierte Wortstellung ist ein Charakteristikum des Romani, das es mit vielen anderen dominierten Sprachen teilt. Sie ist in erster Linie im Plurilingualismus erwachsener Roma und der Dominanz der primären Kontaktsprache, der jeweiligen Mehrheitssprache begründet. Die daraus resultierende, in diesem Abschnitt angedeutete kontaktinduzierte Varianz im Romani setzt sich in der folgenden Beschreibung komplexer Sätze fort.

Komplexe Sätze

Die Wortstellung in Nebensätzen ist in der Regel gleich der in Hauptsätzen und zeigt die beschriebene (S)VO Anordnung.

Relativsätze

Wie andere europäische Sprachen auch, hat das Romani Relativsätze. Die am häufigsten auftretenden relativsatzeinleitenden Elemente ('relativiser') sind kaj 'wo' und so 'was'.

i zumi, so kerďa lenge, ... 'die Suppe, die sie ihnen machte, ...'
o murš, kaj alo idž, ... 'der Mann, der gestern kam, ...'

Wenn das Kopfnomen des Relativsatzes nicht die Subjektrolle innehat, sind resumptive Pronomen obligatorisch. In dieser Funktion findet man kon 'wer' und savo 'welcher', die mit dem Bezugsnomen des Hauptsatzes korrelieren.

le gadžes, kaskero le grasten si, ... 'den Gadžo, dem die Pferde gehören, ...'
panč džene, saven khera si, ... 'fünf Leute, die Häuser besitzen, ...'

Verbkomplemente

Ergänzungen epistemischer Verba, die unabhängige und reale Vorgänge bzw. Zustände bezeichnen, sind durch die faktische bzw. epistemische Konjunktion kaj gekennzeichnet, modale Komplemente hingegen durch die non-faktische bzw. modale Konjunktion te, die in einigen Varietäten als ti auftritt.

phenen, kaj lakero phral dikhla la, ... 'sie sagen, dass ihr Bruder sie (sg) sah, ...'
o X. mangela ti čumidel la, ... 'X will sie küssen'

Während für te/ti in der Regel selten rezenten Entlehnungen auftreten, wird kaj häufig ersetzt: In Vlax-Varietäten durch das funktional äquivalente rumänische bzw. ke ; in Varietäten unter griechischem Einfluss durch das ebenfalls äquivalente griechische oti; in zentralen Varietäten durch das ungarische hod/hodž/hod’/hot/hoj < hun hogy.

Nach Matras (2002: 180) kennzeichnet die Konjunktion te/ti modale und aspektuelle Verbkomplemente sowie direktive Aussagen.

kamen grasten te bikinel 'sie wollen Pferde verkaufen'
astaren te khelen 'sie beginnen zu tanzen'
adava te keres 'das sollst du machen'

Im ersten Beispiel markiert te die Ergänzung des Modalverbs 'wollen' im zweiten die des inchoativen Verbs astaren 'beginnen'. Das dritte Beispiel ist ein direktiver Sprechakt, der im Deutschen mit dem Modalverb 'sollen' wiedergegeben wird.

Adverbialsätze

Im allgemeinen sind Adverbialsätze durch semantisch spezifizierte Konjunktionen gekennzeichnet, die sich grob in drei Kategorien unterscheiden lassen: Die ersten beiden bilden die Konjunktionen kaj und te, die sich – wie auch in ihrer Funktion als Verbkomplemente – bezüglich ihrer Faktizität unterscheiden. Die dritte Kategorie umfasst all jene subordinierenden Konjuktionen, die von Interrogativa abgeleitet sind oder solchen entsprechen. Das non-faktische te/ti leitet Final-, Konditional- und Konsekutivsätze ein.

phenďom lake, te anel amenge mol 'ich sagte ihr, für uns Wein zu bringen'
te sas man baxt, ... 'wenn ich Glück hätte, ...'
buti kerel, bi te kerel love 'er arbeitet, ohne dass er Geld verdient'

Demgegenüber leitet kaj Kausalsätze ein:

avav, kaj akarďan man 'ich komme, weil du mich gerufen hast'

Ein Beispiel für die dritte Kategorie ist das Interrogativpronomen kana 'wann' in seiner Funktion als Konjunktion in simultan-temporaler Bedeutung:

arakhav, kana soves 'ich wache, während du schläfst'

Daneben finden sich varietätenspezifische Entlehnungen, die entweder ursprüngliche Konjunktionen vollständig ersetzen oder mit diesen gemeinsam auftreten und Kombinationen aus Elementen der drei Kategorien mit entlehnten Konjunktionen, Präpositionen und anderen Partikeln. Die folgende Tabelle gibt eine unvollständige Auflistung von Nebensatztypen und Konjunktionen nach rein semantischen Kriterien:3

final te/ti, kaj te, hot te, kə te, ja te, či te damit, dass, um zu
konditional te, bi/by, ako, -se, kana, kada, an te; ob te, či/čy, dali, li, mi wenn, falls, sofern
konsekutiv te/ti, kaj te, hot kaj; bi te, oni te sodass; ohne dass
kausal kaj, kə/ke, vajl, anda kodo ke, sostar, soske, sar, adake, sar, sebepi kaj, afu, jati, zere, bo, mer, jer, lebo, pošto weil, da
konzessiv xoč, hjaba kaj, trocdem kaj, sa jekh ke, jeva obwohl, obschon, obgleich, wenngleich, trotzdem, ...
lokal kaj; katar wo, wohin; woher
temporalanterior sar/syr/har, angla sar, angla kodo ke, bi te na, prin te; dži kaj, dži te, bis te, džikim, bisko, medig bevor; seitdem
temporalsimultan kana, kada/keda, sar/har/syr, kaj, so, afu während, als
temporalposterior kana, kada/keda, sar/har/syr, kaj, so, posle, čim, pala kodo ke, akana, jekh kaj, jekh ta nachdem

1. ^ Die Behandlung der Syntax richtet sich im allgemeinen nach der Darstellung in Matras (2002: 165-190).

2. ^ Matras (2002: 169 f.) diskutiert in Anschluss an Holzinger (1993: 274) die diskurspragmatische bzw. textlinguistische Funktion dieser Unterscheidung im Hinblick auf Kontinuität, Konnektivität und Konsekutivitat.

3. ^ In einzelnen Varietäten kann sich durchaus ein von dieser Auflistung abweichendes Bild ergeben.