Home > Romani > Lexicon

Lexicon

The lexicon of Romani consists of several layers that can be sub-grouped into a pre-European and a European part. The so-called Indian "words of origin" and the either "earlier" or "later" loans from Persian, Armenian, and Byzantine Greek make up the pre-European lexicon. These "inherited words" (Boretzky 1992) comprise about 700 roots from Indian, likely no more than 100 roots from Persian and other Iranian languages, at least 20 from Armenian and up to 250 from Greek. This total of more than 1000 lexemes, however, is not present in its entirety in any single variety. "Recent" loans adopted at a later point in time stem from a range of different European contact languages. Among these, loans from Southern Slavic form the last general layer of the Romani varieties spoken in Europe today.

kham < inc. gharma 'sun'
veš < ira. veša 'wood'
khoni < arm. khoni 'suet'
drom < grc. drómos 'road'
praxo < sla. prax 'dust'
lumja < ron. lume 'world'
kolopa < hun. kalap 'hat'
berga < deu. Berg 'mountain'

As already mentioned, the notion of a common lexicon in this table is valid as far as the Slavic praxo, with all further lexemes being variety-specific: lumja, a loan from Romanian, pertains to the lexical inventory of Kalderaš Romani; kolopa, stemming from Hungarian, is used in Lovara Romani, and berga, which is a loan from German, is used in Sinti Romani.

The Lexicon as a Migration Route

The pre-European loan strata of Romani have made possible a reconstruction of the migratory route followed by Romani speakers. After their emigration from the northwest of the Indian subcontinent, the first influential language contact took place in what was at the time Sassanid Persia. As a consequence, there are elements in the Romani lexicon that can be traced back to Middle Persian Pahlevi. It is impossible to define the amount of time this first contact lasted. In fact, it is unclear whether Romani speakers actually settled in the region for a period of time or whether they were engaged in a slow process of transition. Since Romani does not have any Arabic loans at all, it can be assumed that Romani speakers must have left the Persian region before the hybridisation of the Iranian and Arabic cultures took place. Most likely, they moved on via Armenia into the Byzantine sphere of influence, where they eventually stayed for an extended period. This assumption is supported by loans from Armenian and a strong influence of Byzantine Greek, going well beyond mere lexical loans, on the other. This heavy influence on Romani is also reflected in the cardinal numbers listed below, which include several Greek loans alongside Indic words:

jekh < inc. ekka- 'one' oxto < grc. όχτώ 'eight'
duj < inc. d(u)vā 'two' enja < grc. έννιά 'nine'
trin < inc. trīṇi 'three' deš < inc. daśa- 'ten'
štar < inc. catvāra 'four' biš < inc. viṁśati 'twenty'
pandž < inc. pañca- 'five' tr(ij)anda < grc. τριάντα 'thirty'
šov < inc. śaś/śat 'six' saranda < grc. σαράντα 'forty'
efta < grc. έφτά 'seven' šel < inc. śata 'hundred'

The fact that there are no Turkish loans found among Romani speakers who immigrated into Europe via the Balkans indicates that they must have emigrated from Asia Minor before the region became Turkish, that is, before the hybridisation of the Arabic-Iranian-Islamic and Byzantine-Greek cultures under Ottoman political dominance. The Roma living in Europe today did not take part in this process. The varieties spoken by the Roma who remained in the Balkans and who were later influenced either directly or indirectly by Ottoman-Islamic culture, of course also have Ottoman-Turkish loans. However, these loans should be seen as belonging to the European part of the lexicon along with all other loans from Slavic languages onwards, which in numbers dominate in all Romani varieties.

The layers of European loans in Romani varieties provide evidence about the subsequent migrations of individual groups in Europe. For example, lexemes of German origin in the Finnish Kale variety are a sign of contact with German and probably also show that the ancestors of the Kale lived in German-speaking regions for a period. Romanian elements in many Romani varieties (which are now distributed around the world), such as Kalderaš, Gurbet and Čurara Romani, reflect the common history of these groups in serfdom and slavery in the Moldavian and Vlach regions; hence the collective term "Vlax Romani" for these varieties. In the case of the Kalderaš group, elements derived from Russian in the varieties now spoken in Sweden, France, the Americas and other regions suggest that their migration route passed through Russia.

Basic Vocabulary

The large majority of the lexicon of individual Romani varieties is made up of European loans. Also, each word of the respective contact language is also a potential Romani lexeme that can be integrated if need be. Despite this, the majority of the so-called basic vocabulary (words for existentially important entities, states, and processes) of each individual Romani variety consists of words of Indian origin, so that Romani can still be characterised as a New Indo-Aryan language on lexical grounds.1 For instance, for 178 out of the 207 elements contained by the Swadesh lists2 the corresponding Romani terms can be traced back to Indian. Another sixteen lexemes are "early" loans with pre-European roots, while only thirteen derive from European languages, five of them being of Slavic origin. In other words, 86% of all terms for basic meanings listed by Swadesh come from Indian, and 96% from the common pre-European vocabulary.

This confirms both the kinship of Romani to New Indo-Aryan languages and the lexical homogeneity of its basic vocabulary. The basic vocabulary covers existentially important basic domains; these are areas close to the human being concerning life and the environment. For example, the following Romani terms (personal designations) can be traced back to Indian:

[+ romani] neutral [– romani]
rom manuš murš gadžo 'man'
romni manušni džuvli gadži 'woman'
čhavo [manušoro] [muršoro] raklo 'boy'
čhaj [manušori] [džuvlori] rakli 'girl'

Particularly striking is the differentiation according to ethnic criteria, marked in the table by the feature of [± romani]. For ethnically neutral terms, the pair of murš / džuvli focuses gender difference, while manuš / manušni emphasize the human aspect. The neutral terms for 'boy' / 'girl' given in parenthesis are more or less common diminutive forms of the corresponding terms for 'man' / 'woman'.

Designations for human beings, essentially of Indo-Aryan origin, also function as kinship terms. Accordingly, terms describing direct relatives of the same generation – rom / romni 'husband' / 'wife', and phral / phen, 'brother' / 'sister'– as well as those designating relatives of the immediately preceding and following generations – čhavo / čhaj 'son' / 'daughter' and dad / daj 'father' / 'mother' – have Indian origins.

In contrast, terms for the grandparent generation are loans from Greek – papus / mami 'grandfather' / 'grandmother'. Terms designating indirect relatives of the preceding generation (i.e. siblings of parents) also belong to the early loans and most likely stem from Persian – kak / bibi 'uncle' / 'aunt'. All of the other kinship terms are either variety-specific loans from European contact languages or paraphrases. The following table summarizes the kinship system and the lexical layers of the respective terms from an individual's point of view:

+2 +1 –1 –2
direct 'grandson' čhavo phral dad papu(s)
'granddaughter' čhaj phen daj mami
indirect 'nephew' 'male cousin' kak(o)
'niece' 'female cousin' bibi

The human body is another basic domain where a great majority of terms are of Indic origin (body parts, functions, movements, physical and mental states). Numbers (see above); the environment (landscape, weather, plants, animals); shelter, tools and basic foods; and professions and social functions also belong to the basic vocabulary. The following examples from the domain of time show a preponderance of Indo-Aryan lexemes:

ivend < inc. hemanta 'winter'
nilaj < inc. nidāgha 'summer'
dives < inc. divasa 'day'
rat < inc. rātrī 'night'
berš < inc. varṣa 'year'
masek < inc. māsa 'month'
kurko < grc. kuriaké 'week, Sunday'
ciros < grc. kairós 'time'

Like almost all other basic areas, this domain also contains some pre-European loans, many of them from Byzantine Greek, which supports the idea that Romani speakers must have spent a considerable period in Asia Minor in intensive language contact with the majority populations. The resulting influence of Greek on Romani goes well beyond the lexical domain and is an important factor in morphology and syntax.

1. ^ A similar situation holds true for English. Even though only about one third of the English vocabulary is "Western Germanic" by origin, English is classified as a Western Germanic language, due to the fact that its basic vocabulary largely pertains to this third. In the same way, nobody questions the autonomy of the Japanese language, even though about 50 percent of its vocabulary stem from Chinese and a number of other words are English loans. As in many other comparable cases, the basic vocabulary of Japanese is "originary" by a great majority.

2. ^ The Swadesh-Lists contain 207 basic meanings used in lexico-statistics, that is, in the quantitative analysis of linguistic relationship.

Home > Romani > Lexikon

Lexikon

Das Lexikon des Romani besteht aus mehreren Schichten, die sich in zwei Hauptteile gruppieren lassen, den voreuropäischen und den europäischen Teil des Lexikons. Die sogenannten indischen "Ursprungswörter" und die "frühen bzw. älteren" Entlehnungen aus dem Persischen, Armenischen und Byzantinisch-Griechischen bilden den voreuropäischen Wortschatz. Diese "Erbwörter" (Boretzky 1992) umfassen um die 700 Wurzeln aus dem Indischen, vermutlich nicht mehr als 100 aus dem Persischen und anderen iranischen Sprachen, mindestens 20 aus dem Armenischen und bis zu 250 aus dem Griechischen. Diese mehr als 1000 Lexeme sind jedoch in keiner Varietät vollzählig vorhanden. Die dann hinzugekommenen "späteren bzw. jüngeren" Entlehnungen stammen aus den verschiedensten europäischen Kontaktsprachen, wobei Entlehnungen aus dem Südslawischen die letzte allgemeine Schicht der heute in Europa gesprochenen Romani-Varietäten bilden.

kham < inc. gharma 'Sonne'
veš < ira. veša 'Wald'
khoni < arm. khoni 'Fett'
drom < grc. drómos 'Weg'
praxo < sla. prax 'Staub'
lumja < ron. lume 'Welt'
kolopa < hun. kalap 'Hut'
berga < ger. Berg 'Berg'

Bis zum slawischen praxo kann man in dieser Tabelle – wie erwähnt – von einem gemeinsamen Wortschatz sprechen. Die weiteren Lexeme sind varietätenspezifisch: das aus dem Rumänischen entlehnte lumja gehört u. a. zum lexikalischen Bestand des Kalderaš-Romani, das ungarischstämmige kolopa wird u. a. im Lovara-Romani verwendet, das aus dem Deutschen übernommene berga im Sinti-Romani.

Das Lexikon als Migrationsroute

Aufgrund der voreuropäischen Entlehnstrata des Romani war es möglich die Migrationsroute der Romani-Sprecher zu rekonstruieren. Der erste prägende Kontakt nach der Abwanderung aus dem Nordwesten des indischen Subkontinents erfolgte im damals sassanidischen Persien. Folge davon sind Elemente im Romani Lexikon, die sich auf das mittelpersische Pahlevi zurückführen lassen. Über die Dauer des Kontakts, bei dem es sich entweder um einen längeren Aufenthalt oder auch um einen langsamen "Transit" gehandelt haben könnte, lassen sich keine Angaben machen. Da sich im Romani jedoch keinerlei arabische Entlehnungen finden, liegt der Schluss nahe, dass die Romani-Sprecher den persischen Raum vor der Arabisierung, oder – besser gesagt – vor der Hybridisierung zwischen iranischer und arabischer Kultur verlassen haben. Höchstwahrscheinlich sind sie über Armenien in den byzantinischen Einflussbereich weitergezogen, wo eine längere Aufenthaltsdauer anzusetzen ist. Dafür sprechen einerseits Entlehnungen aus dem Armenischen und eine starke, über bloße lexikalische Entlehnungen weit hinausgehende Prägung durch das Byzantinisch-Griechische. Diesen starken Einfluss auf des Romani zeigen u. a. die im folgenden aufgelisteten Kardinalzahlen, die sich neben Zahlwörtern indischen Ursprungs nur noch aus solchen aus dem Griechischen zusammensetzen:

jekh < inc. ekka- 'eins'
duj < inc. d(u)vā 'zwei'
trin < inc. trīṇi 'drei'
štar < inc. catvāra 'vier'
pandž < inc. pañca- 'fünf'
šov < inc. śaś/śat 'sechs'
efta < grc. éftá 'sieben'
oxto < grc. óxtó 'acht'
enja < grc. énnjá 'neun'
deš < inc. daśa- 'zehn'
biš < inc. viṁśati 'zwanzig'
tr(ij)anda < grc. triánta 'dreißig'
saranda < grc. saránta 'vierzig'
šel < inc. śata 'hundert'

Da sich bei den über den Balkan nach Europa gekommenen Romani-Sprechern keine Entlehnungen aus dem Türkischen finden, liegt es nahe, die Abwanderung aus Kleinasien vor der Turkisierung der Region anzusetzen. Unter Turkisierung ist die Hybridiserung zwischen der arabisch-iranisch-islamischen und der byzantinisch-griechischen Kultur unter der politischen Dominanz der Osmanen zu verstehen, an der die heute in Europa lebenden Roma nicht teilgenommen haben. Die Varietäten der in weiterer Folge am Balkan verbliebenen Roma, die später unter direkten oder indirekten Einfluss der osmanisch-islamischen Kultur geraten sind, weisen natürlich auch Entlehnungen aus dem Osmanisch-Türkischen auf. Diese sind aber ebenso zum europäischen Teil des Lexikons zu rechnen wie sämtliche andere Entlehnungen ab dem Slawischen, die in allen Varietäten des Romani zahlenmäßig bei weitem überwiegen.

Die europäischen Entlehnstrata von Romani-Varietäten geben Aufschluss über den weiteren Weg einzelner Gruppen in Europa. Beispielsweise sind Lexeme aus dem Deutschen in der Romani-Varietät der finnischen Kaale ein Hinweis auf einen früheren Kontakt mit dem Deutschen und höchstwahrscheinlich auch auf einen Aufenthalt im deutschsprachigen Gebiet. Rumänische Elemente im Lexikon vieler heute weltweit verbreiteter Romani-Varietäten wie Kalderaš-, Gurbet- und Čurara-Romani verweisen auf die gemeinsame Vergangenheit dieser Gruppen in der moldawisch-walachischen Leibeigenschaft und Sklaverei. Deshalb fasst man diese Gruppen auch als Vlax-Roma und die von ihnen gesprochenen Romani-Varietäten unter der Bezeichnung Vlach-Romani zusammen. Was die Kalderaš anbelangt, sind Elemente aus dem Russischen in den Varietäten von heute in Schweden, Frankreich, Nord- und Südamerika, etc. lebenden Gruppen Hinweis darauf, dass ihre Migrationsroute über Russland führte.

Die europäischen Entlehnstrata des Romani-Lexikons waren auch Basis der ersten seriösen Klassifikation der Romani-Varietäten von Franz Miklosich (1872-1881). Er unterschied dreizehn Dialekte des Romani nach der jeweils letzten Kontaktsprache, die das Lexikon der einzelnen Varietäten geprägt hat. Darüber hinaus stellte er Verbindungen zwischen den Dialekten aufgrund von gemeinsamen Entlehnungen aus früheren europäischen Kontaktsprachen her und rekonstruierte dadurch auch in etwa die Migrationsrouten der einzelnen Gruppen in Europa.

Basiswortschatz

Das Lexikon der einzelnen Romani-Varietäten besteht in der überwiegenden Mehrzahl aus europäischen Entlehnungen. Zudem ist jedes Wort der aktuellen Kontaktsprache ein potenzielles Romani-Lexem, das bei Bedarf integriert werden kann. Da sich jedoch der Basiswortschatz – d. s. die Bezeichnungen für existentiell wichtige Entitäten, Zustände und Prozesse – jeder einzelnen Romani-Varietät in der überwiegenden Mehrzahl aus Wörtern indischen Ursprungs zusammensetzt, ist das Romani auch lexikalisch gesehen eine neu-indo-arische Sprache.1 So haben beispielsweise von den 207 Elementen der Swadesh-Listen2 178 eine Romani-Entsprechung, die sich auf das Indische zurückführen lassen. Weitere sechzehn Lexeme sind als "frühe" Entlehnungen ebenfalls voreuropäischen Ursprungs und nur dreizehn stammen aus europäischen Sprachen, wovon wiederum fünf Entlehnungen aus dem Slawischen sind. Damit stammen 86% der Bezeichnungen für die Basisbedeutungen der Swadesh-Listen aus dem Indischen und 96% aus dem gemeinsamen Wortschatz. Das bestätigt sowohl die Zugehörigkeit des Romani zu den neu-indo-arischen Sprachen als auch die lexikalische Homogenität des Basiswortschatzes.

Der Basiswortschatz deckt existentiell wichtige Basisdomänen ab; d. s. die dem Menschen nahen Bereiche des Lebens und der Umwelt wie beispielsweise Personenbezeichnungen, die sich im Romani auf das Indische zurückführen lassen:

[+romani] neutral [–romani]
rom manuš murš gadžo 'Mann'
romni manušni džuvli gadži 'Frau'
čhavo [manušoro] [muršoro] raklo 'Bub'
čhaj [manušori] [džuvlori] rakli 'Mädchen'

Auffällig hierbei die Unterscheidung nach ethnischen Kriterien, die in der Tabelle durch das Merkmal [± romani] markiert ist. Bei den ethnisch neutralen Bezeichnungen fokussiert das Paar murš / džuvli den Geschlechtsunterschied, manuš / manušni betont hingegen den menschlichen Aspekt. Die in Klammern angegebenen neutralen Bezeichnungen für 'Bub' / 'Mädchen' sind mehr oder weniger gebräuchliche Diminutivformen der korrespondierenden Bezeichnungen für 'Mann' / 'Frau'.

Personenbezeichnungen fungieren auch als Verwandtschaftsbezeichnungen, die in ihrem Kern ebenfalls indo-arischen Ursprungs sind. Sowohl die Bezeichnungen für direkte Verwandte der selben Generation – rom / romni 'Ehemann' / 'Ehefrau' und phral / phen 'Bruder' / 'Schwester' – als auch für die der folgenden und der direkt vorhergehenden Generationen – čhavo / čhaj 'Sohn' / 'Tochter und dad / daj 'Vater' / 'Mutter' – stammen aus dem Indischen.

Hingegen sind die Bezeichnungen für Verwandte der zweiten vorhergehenden Generation, für die Großeltern, aus dem Griechischen entlehnt – papus / mami 'Großvater' / 'Großmutter'. Die Bezeichnungen für indirekt Verwandte der ersten vorhergehenden Generation, für die Geschwister der Eltern, gehören ebenfalls zu den frühen Entlehnungen und stammen höchstwahrscheinlich aus dem Persischen – kak / bibi 'Onkel' / 'Tante'. Alle anderen Verwandtschaftsbezeichnungen sind entweder varietätenspezifische Entlehnungen aus europäischen Kontaktsprachen oder Umschreibungen. Die folgende Tabelle fasst das System der verwandtschaftlichen Beziehungen und der lexikalischen Schichtzugehörigkeit ihrer Bezeichnungen aus individueller Sicht zusammen:

+2 +1 –1 –2
direkt 'Enkel' čhavo phral dad papu(s)
'Enkelin' čhaj phen daj mami
indirekt 'Neffe' 'Cousin' kak(o)
'Nichte' 'Cousine' bibi

Eine weitere Basisdomäne mit Bezeichnungen, die in der überwiegenden Mehrzahl aus dem Indischen stammen, umfasst den menschlichen Körper: Körperteile, Körperfunktionen, Körperbewegungen, körperliche und mentale Zustände, etc. Weiters sind die Numeralia (siehe oben), Bezeichnungen für die Natur – Landschaft, Wetter, Pflanzen, Tiere, etc. – für Unterkunft, Werkzeuge und Grundnahrungsmittel sowie für Berufe und auch soziale Funktionen Teil des Basisvokabulars. Wie die Beispiele aus der Domäne 'Zeit' zeigen, setzen sich diese Bezeichnungen ebenfalls in der überwiegenden Mehrzahl aus Lexemen indo-arischen Ursprungs zusammen:

ivend < inc. hemanta 'Winter'
nilaj < inc. nidāgha 'Sommer'
dives < inc. divasa 'Tag'
rat < inc. rātrī 'Nacht'
berš < inc. varṣa 'Jahr'
masek < inc. māsa 'Monat'
kurko < grc. kuriaké 'Woche, Sonntag'
ciros < grc. kairós 'Zeit'

Neben Bezeichnungen indischen Ursprungs enthält diese Domäne – wie fast alle anderen Basisdomänen auch – einige voreuropäische Entlehnungen. Da letztere häufig aus dem Byzanthinisch-Griechischen stammen, ist – wie erwähnt – ein relativ langer Aufenthalt der Romani-Sprecher mit intensivem Kontakt in Kleinasien anzunehmen. Die daraus resultierende Prägung des Romani durch das Griechische geht weit über den lexikalischen Bereich hinaus und wird in der Darstellung von Morphologie und Syntax weiter thematisiert.

1. ^ Ähnliches gilt für das Englische. Obwohl nur ungefähr ein Drittel des englischen Vokabulars originär "westgermanisch" ist, wird es als westgermanische Sprache klassifiziert, da das Basisvokabular überwiegend diesem Drittel angehört. Auch die Eigenständigkeit des Japanischen wird keineswegs in Frage gestellt, obwohl um die 50 Prozent des Vokabulars aus dem Chinesischen stammen und viele andere Wörter aus dem Englischen. Das Basisvokabular des Japanischen ist, wie in vielen anderen vergleichbaren Fällen, in der überwiegenden Mehrzahl "originär".

2. ^ Die Swadesh-Listen sind Auflistungen von 100 bzw. 200, zusammen 207 Basisbedeutungen, die in der Lexikostatistik, der quantitativen Analyse von Sprachverwandtschaft verwendet werden.