Home > Romani > Introduction

Romani – An Indo-Aryan Language of Europe

Romani and Romanes are the general names for the language of the Roma, Sinti, Kale and all other ethnic groups in Europe who speak or spoke an Indic or Indo-Aryan language. These population groups are collectively called "Gypsies", a term mostly used in a derogative sense.

  • Romanes is derived from an adverb: Džanes romanes? 'Do you know/speak Roma?' Romanes is used almost exclusively in German-speaking areas.
  • Romani is derived from an adjective: romani čhib 'Roma-tongue, Roma-language'. Romani – often spelled Romany in English texts – is used internationally. Moreover, most names in New Indo-Aryan languages, to which Romani is genetically affiliated, end in -i: Assami, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Maharathi, Panjabi, etc. The international name thus simultaneously implies its kinship to the language group.

In the following we use the term Romani exclusively. Single Romani varieties are labelled Burgenland Romani, Kalderaš Romani, Lovara Romani, Sepečides Romani, Sinti Romani, Ursari Romani etc.

Roma, Sinti, Kale, etc.1

The ethnonym Roma or Řoma – ř = /ʀ/ – is the plural of Rom / Řom 'husband, man'. Most groups use rom and romni as kinship terms to mean 'husband' and 'wife' respectively, but also as general designations for persons who are members of the group – rom '(Romani) man', romni '(Romani) woman'. As Sinti Romani lacks the latter meanings, Sinti do not accept Roma as a name for the collective 'Romani people'. To counteract a widespread error, it has to be noted that rom does not mean 'human being'. Instead the general use of the noun manuš has been observed in Romani.

The designation Romas is also frequent. It is based on the wrong assumption of Roma as a singular. As Romas is also used by competent speakers of Romani in statements in English, German, etc. the term has come to be generally understood and accepted and can be considered a valid neologism.

Some groups have adopted other labels as well: Romaničal, Kale, Manuš and Sinti are some examples of self-appellations used by Romani-speaking populations. Sinti is used by those subgroups who entered the German-speaking area at a relatively early point in time. The Sinti of France refer to themselves as Manuš (or in the French spelling, Manouche). Romanichal is found primarily among British groups. Some of them also designate themselves as Gypsies. Kale 'blacks' is used by the Calé who have been living for a long time on the Iberian Peninsula and by the Kaale of Scandinavia residing in Finland and Sweden. Roma is used as self-designation among all the groups living in central and eastern Europe or by those who emigrated in the 19th and 20th centuries from central and eastern Europe to western Europe and overseas.

Other group-specific names were adopted from other languages. These are often based on traditional occupations, such as in Kalderaš 'tinners' from Romanian căldărar, Čurari 'sieve-makers' from Romanian ciurar, Ursari 'bear trainers' from Romanian ursar, Sepeči 'basket-weavers' from Turkish sepetçi, Bugurdži 'drill-makers' from Turkish bugurcu, Arli or Erli 'settled' from Turkish yerli and Lovara 'horse-dealers' from Hungarian lo 'horse'.

Non-Roma are usually referred to as gadžegadžo 'non-Romani man', gadži 'non-Romani woman'. This is an ancient designation for outsiders which is also found among the Middle Eastern Dom as kaddža, among the Armenian Lom as kača, and among the different groups of Ḍom in India as kājwā, kajjā, or kājarō. In some regions, more specific names are found. For example, in the Balkans, Muslims (including Turks and Albanians) are referred to by the Roma as xoraxane. Slavs are referred to as das, based on the same original Indic word for 'slave' – a designation inspired by the similarity between Greek sklavos 'slave' and slavos 'Slav'.

Rom, Lom, Dom2

Romani is the only Indo-Aryan language that has been used exclusively in Europe since the Middle Ages. It is part of the phenomenon of the so-called Indic diaspora languages spoken by travelling communities of Indian origin outside of India. The name Rom or Řom has related cognates in the names employed by other travelling (peripatetic) communities that speak Indian languages or use a special vocabulary derived from Indic. The Lom of the Caucasus and Anatolia insert Indic vocabulary into their variety of Armenian. The Dom of the Middle East, originally metalworkers and entertainers, speak Domari, one of the most conservative modern Indo-Aryan languages. In the Hunza valley in the north of Pakistan, the population called the Ḍum, who are also metalworkers and musicians, speak a Central Indic (i.e. not a local) language.

Based on the systematicity of sound changes attested in these languages, we know with a fair degree of certainty that these names all derive from the Indian term ḍom. In various parts of India itself, groups known as Ḍom are castes of commercial nomads. The Ḍom are mentioned by a number of medieval Indian writers as early as Alberuni (~1020 CE), the grammarian Hemachandra (~1120 CE), and the Brahmin historian of Kashmir, Kalhana (~1150 CE). They all describe the Ḍom as a low-status caste whose typical trades included sweeping, making music, juggling, metal work and basket weaving, in some areas also seasonal farm work. Similar occupations are still reported for the Ḍom in modern India. The self-designation ḍom > řom thus appears to have originally been a caste-designation, used in different regions by different populations with similar types of trades.

Romani Linguistics

References to the origin and language of the Roma are completely speculative and often denigratory up to the end of the 18th century. In his 1697 paper titled "De civitate Norimbergensis commentario", Johann Christoph Wagenseil characteristically describes Romani as a mixture of German, Yiddish, Hebrew, and phantasmagorical words, claiming that:

The first Gypsies were German-born Jews.

Even in 1781, the weekly journal "Neueste Mannigfaltigkeiten" published in Temeşvar still reads:

Out of the mixing of Ethiopians, Troglodites and Egyptians, there evolved an individual, migrating folk, which has retained something of all three nations and whose descendants can be assumed to be today's Gypsies.

The development of comparative methods in linguistics helped to clarify the origin of the Roma. Modern scholarly discussion of this topic began with Johann Christian Christoph Rüdiger, who in his study of 1782, titled "Von der Sprache und Herkunft der Zigeuner aus Indien" he proves the relationship between Romani and Indian languages. Criticizing prevailing discriminatory and romanticising prejudices, he calls the miserable living conditions of the Roma

political inconsistency, which our enlightened century should be ashamed to tolerate. (Rüdiger 1782/1990: 49)

In 1783, one year after Rüdiger's text, Grellmann's book "Die Zigeuner" was published. It became the most widely known and read work of its time and had a significant influence on public opinion. Grellmann continues Rüdiger's studies on a broad basis; his linguistic explanations are profound. Unlike Rüdiger, however, he is uncritical towards the discriminatory prejudices of his time.

Sixty years later, the publication of Pott’s "Die Zigeuner in Europa und Asien" marks another milestone in the linguistic discussion of Romani. Pott defines its origin and thereby the Roma provenance. Thus Romani is part of the north Indian languages and

thus has a blood relationship with the proud Sanskrit. (Pott 1844: XV; translated by the author)

It is worth mentioning the work of the Slavicist Franz Miklosich as another milestone of Romani linguistics. In two series of articles published between 1872 and 1881, Miklosich undertakes the first classification of Romani into regional dialects, identifying 13 idioms, mainly according to linguistic influences of the different majority languages, such as Greek, Romanian, Hungarian and others.

In 1926, Ralph L. Turner published an article called "The Position of Romani in Indo-Aryan", in which he compares Romani, Sanskrit and various New Indo-Aryan languages, concluding that there must have been an early relationship of Romani to the central group of Indo-Aryan languages. Thus, the ancestors of the Roma must have lived in the central Indian area. Since Romani also shares innovations with New Indo-Aryan languages of northwest India, he postulated that they must have migrated there at a later period.

  • Innovations shared by Romani (rom) with central Indian languages such as Hindi (hin): these regular sound changes suggest both that Romani is related to Sanskrit (san) and that the Roma were present in central India over a long period:
    san rom hin
    ṛkṣa rukh rūkh 'tree'
    rakta rat rātā 'blood'
  • Differences between Romani and central Indian languages: some features of earlier central Indian languages that have since been lost, but are conserved in Romani, support the idea that Romani speakers had left central India at an early date:
    san rom hin
    drākṣā drakh dākh 'grape'
    miṣṭa mišto mīthā 'good'
  • Parallels to innovations in northwest Indian languages such as Sindhi, which are not found in the languages of central India, suggest that Romani speakers subsequently spent a long period of time in the northwest of the subcontinent:
    san rom snd hin
    vaṇkuḥ bango wiṇgu bā̃kā 'bent'
    dantaḥ dand ḍandu dā̃t 'tooth'

Also in 1926, John Sampson's "Dialect of the Gypsies of Wales" was published. Cntaining a great deal of etymological evidence, this book is much more than a description of a single dialect, and is a landmark of Romani linguistics.

Scientific interest in Romani grew during the second half of the 20th century, in terms of both quantity and quality of the publications. Descriptive grammars include Gjerdman / Ljungberg (1963), Wentzel (1980), Boretzky (1993), Holzinger (1993), Matras (1994), Igla (1996), Halwachs (1998), Cech / Heinschink (1999) and Tenser (2005). Dictionaries were compiled by Valtonen (1972), Calvet (1982), Vekerdi (1983), Demeter / Demeter / Tcherenkov (1990), Hübschmannová / Šebková / Žigová (1991), Boretzky/Igla (1994). Anthologies on diverse topics were prepared by Matras (1995), Matras / Bakker / Kyuchukov (1997), Elšík / Matras (2000) and Schrammel / Halwachs / Ambrosch (2005). Sociolinguistic studies were done by Friedman (2003), Halwachs (2003) and Matras (2004). With Yaron Matras's comprehensive description "Romani: A Linguistic Introduction" (2002), Romani linguistics was finally established as an integral part of modern linguistics.

The Structure of Romani

Structurally, Romani may be described as a heterogeneous cluster of varieties with a homogenising morphological and lexical core. All Romani varieties exhibit typical features of New Indo-Aryan languages, e.g. the declension of the noun. These morphological features are primary criteria for the genetic classification of Romani. The following table – an overview of the singular declension of the substantive of different varieties – demonstrates this homogeneity.3

manuš 'human being'
Arlije Kalderaš Burgenland Lithuanian Sinti Welsh case
manuš manuš manuš manuš manuš manuš nom/acc
manuš-e manuš-es manuš-e manuš-es manuš-es manuš-es obl/acc
manuš-es-(k)e manuš-es-ke manuš-es-ke manuš-es-ke manuš-es-ke manuš-es-ki dat
manuš-es-tar manuš-tar manuš-es-tar manuš-es-tar manuš-es-ter manuš-es-te abl
manuš-es-te manuš-es-te manuš-es-te manuš-es-te manuš-es-te manuš-es-ti loc
manuš-eja manuš-es-sa manuš-eha manuš-es-(s)a manuš-eha manuš-esa inst/soc
manuš-es-(k)oro manuš-es-ko manuš-es-kero manuš-es-k(r)o manuš-es-kro manuš-es-k(er)o gen
manuš-a manuš-eja manuš(-a) manuš-a manuš(-a) manuš-aja voc

Furthermore, all Romani varieties have a selection of words of a basic vocabulary consisting of approximately 1000 pre-European roots of Indo-Aryan, Iranian, Armenian and Byzantine-Greek origin. All words in the following table are of Indo-Aryan origin:

Arlije Kalderaš Burgenland Lithuanian Finnish Sinti Welsh
buti bući buti buťi butti buti(n) buti 'work'
dela del del dêl dela del del 'he/she gives'
džala źal džal džal džal džal džal 'he/she goes'
kalo kalo kalo kalo kaalo kalo kalo 'black'
jevend ivend jevend ven vend vend 'winter'
šukar šukar šukar šukar šukar šukar 'beautiful'

The large majority of the words of Romani varieties derive from their European contact languages, and in fact any word of a contact language may be used by speakers of the corresponding Romani variety. Phonetics, phonology and syntax are also often adapted to the primary contact language. There are no Romani varieties that do not show at least some influence of the patterns of the contact language. The heavy impact of contact languages on Romani results from the marginalisation and stigmatisation of its speakers, who – as a rule – are plurilingual. Consequently, Romani is a dominated language. This characterisation, however, in no way challenges its status as a fully fledged language.

1. ^ Parts of this chapter have been taken over from the homepage of the Manchester Romani Project: Matras, Yaron. History of the Romani Language: Names.

2. ^ This chapter has been taken over from the homepage of the Manchester Romani Project: Matras, Yaron. History of the Romani Language: Origins.

3. ^ For the single varieties see the chapter Dialectology. For a description of the declension see the chapter Morphology, especially the subchapter Noun.

Home > Romani > Einleitung

Romani – eine indo-arische Sprache Europas

Romanes und Romani sind die Allgemeinbezeichnungen für die Sprache der Roma, Sinti, Kale und aller anderen europäischen Bevölkerungsgruppen, die eine indische bzw. indo-arische Sprache sprechen oder gesprochen haben und die häufig unter der meist pejorativ verwendeten Bezeichnung "Zigeuner" zusammengefasst werden:

  • Die von einem Adverb abgeleitete Bezeichnung Romanes wird fast nur im deutschsprachigen Raum verwendet: Džanes romanes? 'Kannst Du roma?'
  • Bei der Bezeichnung Romani handelt es sich um ein substantiviertes Adjektiv: romani čhib 'Roma-Zunge, Roma-Sprache'. Romani, in englischen Texten häufig auch Romany geschrieben, wird international verwendet und impliziert bis zu einem gewissen Grad auch die genetische Zugehörigkeit. Die Namen der meisten neu-indo-arischen Sprachen, zu denen das Romani zu rechnen ist, haben den gleichen Auslaut: Assami, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Marathi, Panjabi, etc.

In weiterer Folge wird ausschließlich Romani verwendet. Einzelne Varietäten werden als: Burgenland-Romani, Kalderaš-Romani, Lovara-Romani, Sepečides-Romani, Sinti-Romani, Ursari-Romani etc. bezeichnet.

Roma, Sinti, Kale, etc.1

Das Ethnonym Roma bzw. Řoma – ř = /ʀ/ – ist der Plural von Rom bzw. Řom 'Ehemann, Mann'. Die meisten Gruppen verwenden rom und romni sowohl als Verwandtschaftsbezeichnungen mit der Bedeutung 'Ehemann' bzw. 'Ehefrau' als auch als allgemeine Bezeichnung für Personen, die zur Gruppe gehören – rom 'Mann', romni 'Frau'; u. a. bei den Sinti fehlen letztere Bedeutungen jedoch, weshalb Roma als Allgemeinbezeichnung für die meisten Sinti nicht akzeptabel ist. Um allgemein verbreiteten Irrtümern entgegenzuwirken, sei angemerkt, dass Rom nicht 'Mensch' bedeutet. Für 'Mensch' steht manuš.

Häufig wird die Kollektivbezeichnung *Romas verwendet, die auf der "irrtümlichen" Verwendung von Roma als Singular basiert. Da jedoch auch kompetente Sprecher des Romani *Romas im Deutschen, Englischen, etc. verwenden, ist diese Bezeichnung mittlerweile allgemein akzeptiert und folglich als Neologismus zu interpretieren.

Einige Gruppen bezeichnen sich selbst als Sinti, Manuš, Romaničal und Kale. Die Bezeichnung Sinti verwenden Gruppen, die relativ früh in den deutschsprachig-mitteleuropäischenen Kulturkreis gekommen sind. Als Manuš bzw. Manouche bezeichnen sich die heute in Frankreich lebenden Sinti. Romaničal findet man häufig bei britischen oder britisch stämmigen Gruppen, die z. T. aber auch das Ethnonym Gypsies für sich beanspruchen. Unter Kale 'Schwarze' versteht man primär zwei Gruppen: die bereits lange auf der iberischen Halbinsel lebenden Calé, bzw. die lange in Skandinavien (Finnland, Schweden) ansässigen Kaale. Roma steht für alle in Zentral- und Osteuropa beheimateten bzw. im 19. und 20. Jhdt. von dort nach Westeuropa und Übersee ausgewanderten Gruppen.

Andere gruppenspezifische Bezeichnungen beziehen sich auf die traditionellen Beschäftigungen ihrer Träger und wurden von anderen Sprachen übernommen. Beispiele dafür sind Kalderaš 'Kupferschmiede' aus dem Rumänischen (ron) căldărar, Čurari 'Siebmacher' aus dem ron ciurar, Ursari 'Bärentreiber' aus ron ursar, Sepeči 'Korbflechter' aus dem Türkischen (tur) sepetçi, Bugurdži 'Bohrermacher' aus tur bugurcu, Arli oder Erli 'sesshaft' aus tur yerli und Lovara 'Pferdehändler' aus dem Ungarischen (hun) lo 'Pferd'.

Nicht-Roma werden im Romani normalerweise als gadžegadžo 'Nicht-Roma-Mann', gadži 'Nicht-Roma-Frau' – bezeichnet. Dies ist eine alte Bezeichnung für Nicht-Gruppenangehörige, die sich auch bei den Dom im Mittleren Osten als kaddža, bei den armenischen Lom als kača und bei verschiedenen Gruppen der Ḍom in Indien als kājwā, kajjā, oder kājarō findet. In einigen Gegenden werden auch andere Bezeichnungen verwendet. Am Balkan werden Muslime (inklusive Türken und Albaner) von den Roma als xoraxane bezeichnet. Angehörige der slawischen Bevölkerung werden als das bezeichnet. Das aus dem indischen stammende das bedeutet 'Sklave' – eine Bezeichnung, die auf die Ähnlichkeit zwischen gre sklavos 'Sklave' und slavos 'Slawe' zurückzuführen ist.

Rom, Lom, Dom2

Romani ist die einzige indo-arische Sprache, die seit dem Mittelalter ausschließlich in Europa gesprochen wird. Sie ist eine der indischen Diaspora-Sprachen, die von indischstämmigen, nomadischen Gruppen außerhalb von Indien gesprochen werden. Das Ethnonym Roma bzw. Rom ist mit den Selbstbezeichnungen anderer peripatetischer Gruppen verwandt, die indo-arische Sprachen sprechen oder ein indo-arisches Spezialvokabular benützen: So findet man im Armenischen der Lom im Kaukasus und in Anatolien indische Lexeme. Die Dom im Nahen Osten, die ursprünglich Metallbearbeiter und Unterhaltungskünstler waren, sprechen noch heute Domari, eine der konservativsten indo-arischen Sprachen überhaupt. Im Hunzatal im Norden Pakistans leben die Ḍum, die eine zentralindische, außerhalb des heutigen Siedlungsgebiets entstandene Sprache sprechen.

Aufgrund vergleichend-historischer Methoden der Linguistik – in erster Linie aufgrund des in diesen Sprachen belegten systematischen Lautwandels – ist mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit anzunehmen, dass sich all diese Bezeichnungen vom indischen ḍom ableiten. In verschiedenen Teilen Indiens finden sich Gruppen von Dienstleistungsnomaden, die Ḍom genannt werden. Hinweise auf die Ḍom finden sich bereits in mittelalterlichen Quellen wie bei Alberuni (~1020 n. Chr.), dem Grammatiker Hemachandra (~1120 n. Chr.) sowie bei Kalhana, dem brahmanischen Geschichtsschreiber von Kaschmir (~1150 n. Chr.). Sie beschreiben die Ḍom als Kaste mit niedrigem Status und typischen Berufen wie Straßenkehrer, Musiker, Gaukler, Metallbearbeiter, Korbflechter und in manchen Gegenden auch landwirtschaftliche Saisonarbeiter. Die Selbstbezeichnung ḍom > řom war höchstwahrscheinlich eine Kastenbezeichnung, die in verschiedenen Regionen von und für unterschiedliche Bevölkerungsgruppen mit ähnlichen Tätigkeiten verwendet wurde.

Romani-Linguistik

Bis Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts waren in Europa sowohl Herkunft als auch Sprache der Roma Thema wildester Spekulationen. So beschreibt Johann Christoph Wagenseil in seiner 1697 erschienenen Schrift "De civitate Norimbergensis commentario" das Romani als Gemisch aus deutschen, jiddischen, hebräischen und phantastischen Wörtern und behauptet:

Die ersten Ziegeiner sind aus Teutschland gebürtige Juden gewesen.

Noch 1781 war in der in Temeşvar erscheinenden Wochenzeitschrift "Neueste Mannigfaltigkeiten" folgendes zu lesen:

Aus der Vermischung von Äthiopiern, Trogloditen und Ägyptern entstand ein eigenes irrendes Volk, welches von allen drei Nationen etwas hat und von dem man ... annehmen kann, daß die heutigen Zigeuner seine Abkömmlinge sind.

Es ist der Entwicklung vergleichender Methoden der Sprachwissenschaft zu verdanken, dass die Herkunft des Romani geklärt werden konnte. Den Beginn der seriösen Auseinandersetzung mit der Thematik kann man mit Johann Christian Christoph Rüdiger ansetzen. In seiner 1782 erschienenen Schrift "Von der Sprache und Herkunft der Zigeuner aus Indien" erbringt er den wissenschaftlichen Beweis für die Verwandtschaft des Romani mit indischen Sprachen. Darüber hinaus räumt er mit diskriminierenden und romantisierenden Vorurteilen auf und nennt die damals schon elenden Lebensbedingungen

... eine politische Ungereimtheit, welche unser erleuchtetes Jahrhundert weiter zu dulden sich schämen sollte. (Rüdiger 1782/1990: 49)

Ein Jahr nach Rüdigers Schrift, 1783, erscheint Grellmanns Buch "Die Zigeuner", das am häufigsten rezipierte Werk seiner Zeit, welches die öffentliche Meinung nachhaltig prägte. Grellmann setzte Rüdigers Studien auf breiterer Basis fort; seine sprachwissenschaftlichen Ausführungen sind fundiert; im Gegensatz zu Rüdiger übernimmt er jedoch kritiklos die stereotypisierenden und diskriminierenden Vorurteile seiner Zeit.

Sechzig Jahre später stellt Potts Werk "Die Zigeuner in Europa und Asien" einen weiteren Meilenstein in der sprachwissenschaftlichen Behandlung des Romani dar. Pott präzisiert dessen Ursprung und somit die Herkunft der Roma. Das Romani ist demnach zu den nordindischen Sprachen zu rechnen und

steht somit mit dem stolzen Sanskrit in blutsverwandtem Verhältnis. (Pott 1844: XV)

Als weiterer Meilenstein in der Entwicklung der Romani-Liguistik sind die Arbeiten des Slawisten Franz Miklosich zu erwähnen. In seinen zwischen 1872 und 1881 erschienenen Artikelserien wird das Romani zum ersten Mal in verschiedene Dialekte untergliedert. Diese Einteilung in dreizehn "Mundarten" beruht auf Einflüssen der Sprache des jeweiligen Gastlandes und unterscheidet zwischen dem griechischen, dem rumänischen, dem ungarischen, etc. Dialekt.

In seiner Untersuchung "The Position of Romani in Indo-Aryan" von 1926 zieht Ralph L. Turner aufgrund eines Vergleichs des Romani mit dem Sanskrit und verschiedenen neuindischen Sprachen den Schluss, dass frühe Beziehungen des Romani zur zentralindischen Gruppe der indo-arischen Sprachen bestanden haben und folglich die Vorfahren der Roma im zentralindischen Raum gelebt haben müssen, aus dem sie in den Nordwesten Indiens zogen, wo sie sich länger aufgehalten haben, da das Romani auch Innovationen mit indo-arischen Sprachen des Nordwestens teilt.

  • Innovationen die das Romani (rom) mit zentralindischen Sprachen wie beispielsweise dem Hindi (hin) gemeinsam hat: Auf Basis dieser regelhaften Lautveränderungen läßt sich neben dem Beweis der Verwandtschaft mit dem Sanskrit (san) auch ein längerer Aufenthalt der Romani-Sprecher in Zentralindien folgern:
    san rom hin
    ṛkṣa rukh rūkh 'Baum'
    rakta rat rātā 'Blut'
  • Konservative Züge des Romani im Gegensatz zu zentralindischen Innovationen, welche die Annahme einer frühen Abwanderung aus Zentralindien stützen:
    san rom hin
    drākṣā drakh dākh 'Weintraube'
    miṣṭa mišto mīthā 'gut'
  • Parallelen mit Innovationen nordwestindischer Sprachen wie beispielsweise dem Sindhi (snd), die in den Sprachen Zentralindiens nicht auftreten und folglich einen längeren Aufenthalt der Romanisprecher im Nordwesten des indischen Subkontinents nahelegen:
    san rom snd hin
    vaṇkuḥ bango wiṇgu bā̃kā 'krumm'
    dantaḥ dand ḍandu dā̃t 'Zahn'

Ebenfalls 1926 erscheint Sampsons "Dialect of the Gypsies of Wales", ein bis heute gültiges Standardwerk, das u. a. durch seine etymologischen Nachweise weit über die Darstellung eines einzelnen Dialekts hinausgeht.

In der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts intensiviert sich die wissenschaftliche Beschäftigung mit dem Romani. Das äußert sich sowohl in der Quantität als auch in der Qualität der diversen Publikationen: d.s. deskriptive Grammatiken: u.a. Gjerdman / Ljungberg (1963), Wentzel (1980), Boretzky (1993), Holzinger (1993), Matras (1994), Igla (1996), Halwachs (1998), Cech / Heinschink (1999), Tenser (2005); Wörterbücher: Valtonen (1972), Calvet (1982), Vekerdi (1983), Demeter / Demeter / Tcherenkov (1990), Hübschmannová / Šebková / Žigová (1991), Boretzky / Igla (1994); Sammelbände zu verschiedenen Aspekten des Romani: u.a. Matras (1995), Matras / Bakker / Kyuchukov (1997), Elšík / Matras (2000), Schrammel / Halwachs / Ambrosch (2005); und soziolinguistische Studien: u.a. Friedman (2003), Halwachs (2003), Matras (2004). Mit der 2002 veröffentlichten umfassenden Beschreibung "Romani: a linguistic introduction" von Yaron Matras hat sich die Romani-Linguistik endgültig als integraler Teil der modernen Sprachwissenschaft etabliert.

Struktur des Romani

Strukturell gesehen ist das Romani ein heterogenes Varietätenbündel mit einem homogenen Kern. Die Homogenität des Romani manifestiert sich in erster Linie in der Morphologie, deren Eigenschaften, wie beispielsweise im Fall der Deklination, denen neu-indo-arischer Sprachen entsprechen und somit primäres Kriterium für die genetischen Zuordnung sind. Die folgenden Tabelle der Singularsubstantivdeklination von Varietäten unterschiedlicher Dialektgruppen demonstriert diese Homogenität.3

manuš 'Mensch' / jag 'Feuer'
Arlije Kalderaš Burgenland Littauisch Sinti Walisisch Fall
manuš manuš manuš manuš manuš manuš nom/acc
manuš-e manuš-es manuš-e manuš-es manuš-es manuš-es obl/acc
manuš-es-(k)e manuš-es-ke manuš-es-ke manuš-es-ke manuš-es-ke manuš-es-ki dat
manuš-es-tar manuš-tar manuš-es-tar manuš-es-tar manuš-es-ter manuš-es-te abl
manuš-es-te manuš-es-te manuš-es-te manuš-es-te manuš-es-te manuš-es-ti loc
manuš-eja manuš-es-sa manuš-eha manuš-es-(s)a manuš-eha manuš-esa inst/soc
manuš-es-(k)oro manuš-es-ko manuš-es-kero manuš-es-k(r)o manuš-es-kro manuš-es-k(er)o gen
manuš-a manuš-eja manuš(-a) manuš-a manuš(-a) manuš-aja voc

Des weiteren enthalten alle Varietäten eine Auswahl an Lexemen aus einem gemeinsamen, aus ca. 1000 Elementen bestehenden Basisvokabular, das sich fast ausschließlich auf voreuropäische Wurzeln aus dem Indo-Arischen, Persischen, Armenischen und Byzantinisch-Griechischen zurückführen lässt und ebenfalls zur Homogenität beiträgt. Sämtliche der in der folgenden Tabelle aufgelisteten Lexeme lassen sich auf das Indo-Arische zurückführen:

Arlije Kalderaš Burgenland Littauisch Finnisch Sinti Walisisch
buti bući buti buťi butti buti(n) buti 'Arbeit'
dela del del dêl dela del del 'er/sie gibt'
džala źal džal džal džal džal džal džela
kalo kalo kalo kalo kaalo kalo kalo 'schwarz'
jevend ivend jevend ven vend vend 'Winter'
šukar šukar šukar šukar šukar šukar 'schön'

In der überwiegenden Mehrzahl setzt sich das Vokabular einer Romani-Varietät jedoch aus Entlehnungen aus europäischen Sprachen zusammen, wobei jedes Lexem der aktuellen Kontaktsprache ein potentielles Romani-Lexem ist. Auch Syntax und Phonetik bzw. Phonologie sind oft den Strukturen der Kontaktsprachen angepasst, oder zumindest von diesen beeinflusst. Dieser starke Kontaktspracheneinfluss ist Folge der Marginalisierung und Stigmatisierung der Romani-Sprecher, die in der Regel plurilingual sind. So gesehen ist das Romani eine dominierte Sprache, was aber keineswegs seinen Status als vollwertige Sprache in Frage stellt.

1. ^ Teile dieses Abschnitts sind von der Homepage des Manchester Romani Project übernommen: Matras, Yaron. History of the Romani Language: Names.

2. ^ Inhalte dieses Abschnitts sind z.T. von der Homepage des Manchester Romani Projects übernommen: Matras, Yaron. History of the Romani Language: Origins.

3. ^ Die einzelnen Varietäten werden im Kapitel Dialektologie ausführlicher behandelt, zu Details der Deklination sei auf den Abschnitt Substantiv im Kapitel Morphologie verwiesen.